The vine was
cultivated very early in Burgundy. But
it was in Gevrey-Chambertin that archaeological research made it possible to
discover the first Gallo-Roman vines, which date from the 1st century BC. This
discovery accredits the recommendations of Pliny the Elder and of Columella. Le
Clos de Bèze, dean of the closed Burgundian was planted by the monks of the
abbey of Bèze in 630.
Le Chambertin owes its name to a peasant named Bertin, owner of a land next to the vineyards of Clos de Bèze, cultivated by the monks of the abbey of the same name. Bertin thought that this land should also produce a good wine. Soon after, the wine of the "champ (field) Bertin" was soon as famous as that of the Clos de Bèze.
The Chambertin reached its hour of glory under Napoleon, who made it his favorite wine. Napoleon's predilection for Chambertin probably dates back to the time when, a young artillery officer, he spent some time in the Côte-d'Or.
At the end of the nineteenth century came two new plagues of the vine. The first was mildew, cryptogamic disease and phylloxera. This insect from America put the vineyard at great risk. After extensive research, it was finally discovered that grafting alone allowed the vine to grow in the presence of the phylloxera. Thus it was in 1936 that the appellation obtained its AOC, and 1937 for its Grands Crus.